Temporary service interruptions due to COVID-19 - sorry for any inconvenience

Some Council services may be affected by staff shortages due to COVID-19 requirements. Services currently affected include bin & hard waste collections and wait times for our customer support centre. More info on service impacts due to COVID-19 >

Stan Henwood Award

  • Open: 9am Monday 7 February 2022
  • Close: 5pm Monday 28 March 2022

Nomination submissions will be through the SmartyGrants website

The Stan Henwood Award is presented each year to a person who has made a positive, long-term contribution to the Cardinia Shire community.

It honours the late Stan Henwood’s lifetime contribution to the township of Tynong, and to the wider community.

Each year, nominees are invited to the annual Mayor's Volunteer Reception dinner in May, where the award winner is announced.

Stan was heavily involved with the Tynong Hall Committee, Tynong Recreation Reserve Committee and the Make A Wish Foundation. He was also a life member of the Tynong Tennis Club, the West Gippsland Tennis Association, Tynong Fire Brigade and Tynong Progress Association.

In 1981 and 1990 he was recognised as the Cardinia Shire Citizen of the Year, as well as receiving a Citation for all Community Achievements.

Beyond Cardinia Shire’s borders, he received a Medal from the Prime Minister for service to sport and an Order of Australia for Service to the Community.

It is this commitment to volunteering across a diverse range of organisations and indeed during most of his life that made Stan a standout member of our community.

Helen Smith

Stan Henwood award winner 2021 Helen Smith with Mayor Cr Brett Owen

Helen Smith, the Stan Henwood Award winner for 2021, with Mayor Cr Brett Owen.

Upper Beaconsfield resident Helen Smith is a highly valued community member, having served on numerous committees over the past 40 years, including the Upper Beaconsfield Association, Upper Beaconsfield Community Hall, Upper Beaconsfield Community Centre (Building and Grounds complex), Upper Beaconsfield Festival Committee and the Village Bell Committee. In recognition of her valued contributions, The Upper Beaconsfield Association awarded her, along with her late husband, Barry, The Citizen of the Year award in 1994.

Helen's contributions extend beyond membership, and she has been described by her peers as someone who energises committees, demonstrates initiative, a team player and 'the backbone of community life’. She has also initiated multiple successful grant applications for community projects from Cardinia Shire.

Helen's long-term dedication to local committees and groups is highly admired by those around her. Described as a quiet achiever, Helen’s in-depth knowledge of Upper Beaconsfield and surrounds reflects her longstanding commitment and contribution to community.

  • 2020 – Ken Rook
  • 2019 – Wendy Andrews 
  • 2018 –  Eric Bumpstead
  • 2017 – Ray Coombs
  • 2016 – Ron and Beryl Banbury 
  • 2015 – Graham Simpson
  • 2014 – Colin ‘Col’ Leeson
  • 2013 – Norma Jackson
  • 2012 – Ron Topp
  • 2011 – John Cascone
  • 2010 – Bill and Robyn Kuys
  • 2009 – Sue Beattie
  • 2008 – William (Bob) Robert Farr
  • 2007 – Tom Van Den Dungen
  • 2006 – Bernie Berne
  • 2005 – Robert Porter

Contact the Community Development Team on 1300 787 624 or mail@cardinia.vic.gov.au

Was this page useful?