Nominate someone for the Stan Henwood Award

Nominations for the 2024 Stan Henwood Award are now closed.   

  • This award is presented each year to a person who has made a positive, long-term contribution to the Cardinia Shire community.
  • It honours the late Stan Henwood’s lifetime contribution to the township of Tynong, and to the wider community. You can learn more about Stan Henwood here. 
  • Nominees are invited to the annual Mayor's volunteer reception dinner in May, where the award winner is announced.
  • You can nominate someone online now

To be eligible for the Stan Henwood award, nominees must:

  • have made a significant contribution to community services in Cardinia Shire,
  • have not held a position as a Cardinia Shire Councillor in the last 4 years, and,
  • have not previously received the award.

View the award guidelines here

What to include

Nominations should explain the person’s achievement, background and reasons for the nomination and include any supporting documentation. Include at least one other referee to support the nomination.

Make a nomination online

Nominations are presented to our councillors and a representative from the Henwood family, who select a winner based on a majority vote.

2024 Stan Henwood Award winner Dot Griffin with Cardinia Shire Mayor Cr Jack Kowarzik and Mrs Bev Henwood.

WINNER – Dot Griffin

Dot Griffin is a well-respected community leader in Cockatoo whose unwavering commitment to various community initiatives has played a pivotal role in driving positive change throughout the region. Through her dedicated leadership, Dot has become a shining example of what it means to be a true community champion, constantly working towards improving the lives of Cockatoo's residents. 

Dot’s significant contributions include proposing and assisting with the establishment of a Bendigo Community Bank and advocating for the preservation of the historic McBride Street Kinder, securing its status as a heritage landmark. 

Dot is known for her unique blend of determination, kindness, and leadership. She can rally support from others and is an inclusive and empowering leader who mentors and encourages young volunteers to take on leadership roles within the community. 

Dot works tirelessly to ensure the best outcomes for her community and has received a number of awards in recognition of her hard work.  

  • 2024 – Dot Griffin
  • 2023 – Jeffrey Latter
  • 2022 – Tim Ahern
  • 2021 – Helen Smith
  • 2020 – Ken Rook
  • 2019 – Wendy Andrews 
  • 2018 –  Eric Bumpstead
  • 2017 – Ray Coombs
  • 2016 – Ron and Beryl Banbury 
  • 2015 – Graham Simpson
  • 2014 – Colin ‘Col’ Leeson
  • 2013 – Norma Jackson
  • 2012 – Ron Topp
  • 2011 – John Cascone
  • 2010 – Bill and Robyn Kuys
  • 2009 – Sue Beattie
  • 2008 – William (Bob) Robert Farr
  • 2007 – Tom Van Den Dungen
  • 2006 – Bernie Berne
  • 2005 – Robert Porter

Stan was heavily involved with the Tynong Hall Committee, Tynong Recreation Reserve Committee and the Make A Wish Foundation. He was also a life member of the Tynong Tennis Club, the West Gippsland Tennis Association, Tynong Fire Brigade and Tynong Progress Association.

In 1981 and 1990 he was recognised as the Cardinia Shire Citizen of the Year, as well as receiving a Citation for all Community Achievements.

Beyond Cardinia Shire’s borders, he received a Medal from the Prime Minister for service to sport and an Order of Australia for Service to the Community.

It is this commitment to volunteering across a diverse range of organisations and indeed during most of his life that made Stan a standout member of our community.

Contact the Connected Communities Team on 1300 787 624 or