COVIDSafe settings now apply across Victoria

For information on changes to Council services and links to the latest Victorian Government COVID-19 information visit our COVID-19 help hub. COVID-19 help hub >

Stan Henwood Award

  • Nominations for the 2021 Stan Henwood Award have now closed.  The winner will be announced in May.
  • The Stan Henwood Award is presented each year to a person who has made a positive, long-term contribution to the Cardinia Shire community.
  • It honours the late Stan Henwood’s lifetime contribution to the township of Tynong, and to the wider community.
  • Each year, nominees are invited to the annual Mayor's Volunteer Reception dinner in May, where the award winner is announced. 


Photo (headshot) of winner Ken Rook

WINNER – Ken Rook 

Pakenham resident Ken Rook has held a range of positions across various community organisations and groups, including the Rotary Club of Pakenham, which he has been part of for more than 35 years. During his time with the club, Ken has taken on many positions including President, Secretary, Golf Day Chairman, Club Youth Protection Officer and Primary School Public Speaking Chair. Ken has also played vital roles in establishing the Cardinia Primary Schools Public Speaking Competition, as well as the Rotary Club of Pakenham Annual Charity Golf Day which raises funds for community service projects.

Ken has also made a huge contribution to his community in various roles with Toomuc Fire Brigade, including communications officer, secretary and second lieutenant. He has been with the brigade for over 20 years. Ken has also spent two decades with the Pakenham Scouts, taking on roles such as cub leader, badge secretary, Toomuc District Commissioner and Eastern Region Commissioner. He also spent several years as secretary of both the Australian and Victorian branches of the Suffolk Sheep Breeders Association, and has been president of the Presbyterian Tennis Club.


Stan was heavily involved with the Tynong Hall Committee, Tynong Recreation Reserve Committee and the Make A Wish Foundation. He was also a life member of the Tynong Tennis Club, the West Gippsland Tennis Association, Tynong Fire Brigade and Tynong Progress Association.

In 1981 and 1990 he was recognised as the Cardinia Shire Citizen of the Year, as well as receiving a Citation for all Community Achievements.

Beyond Cardinia Shire’s borders, he received a Medal from the Prime Minister for service to sport and an Order of Australia for Service to the Community.

It is this commitment to volunteering across a diverse range of organisations and indeed during most of his life that made Stan a standout member of our community.

  • 2019 – Wendy Andrews 
  • 2018 –  Eric Bumpstead
  • 2017 – Ray Coombs
  • 2016 – Ron and Beryl Banbury 
  • 2015 – Graham Simpson
  • 2014 – Colin ‘Col’ Leeson
  • 2013 – Norma Jackson
  • 2012 – Ron Topp
  • 2011 – John Cascone
  • 2010 – Bill and Robyn Kuys
  • 2009 – Sue Beattie
  • 2008 – William (Bob) Robert Farr
  • 2007 – Tom Van Den Dungen
  • 2006 – Bernie Berne
  • 2005 – Robert Porter

Contact the Community Development Team on 1300 787 624 or