Cardinia Shire 2022 Australia Day Award nominees announced

Published: 18 January 2022

Cardinia Shire Council is proud to announce the 2022 Australia Day award nominees. 

Cardinia Shire Mayor Councillor Jeff Springfield congratulated all nominees and thanked them for their valuable contribution. 

“Congratulations to all of our nominees for our 2022 Australia Day awards,” he said. 

“Thank you to each and every one of you for your amazing efforts and contributions.  

“It’s been another challenging year, and I’m so proud of the resilience and community spirit that I’ve witnessed in action across the shire. This is particularly true of our Australia Day nominees whose dedication and commitment to the local community is so appreciated.” 

Citizen of the Year nominees 

  • Phil Anning 
  • Binita Maskey 
  • Rachelle Mechielsen 
  • Shoheli Sunjida 
  • Carol Thompson 
  • Elise Turnedge 

Senior Citizen of the Year nominees 

  • Magda Lane 
  • Geoffrey Pepperell 
  • Jenny Reynolds 
  • Graeme and Ann Taylor 
  • Ian Wake 

Young Citizen of the Year nominees 

  • Jacynta Howden 
  • Arshu Maskey 
  • Selby McDonald 
  • Annabelle Morton 
  • Charlotte O-Sullivan 

Community Event of the Year nominees 

  • Beaconsfield Australia Day Family Drive-in Movie Night 
  • Cockatoo Country Market 
  • Eid Bazar in Cardinia  
  • Eid Prayer in Cardinia Shire 
  • Vaccination pop-up clinic 

The Cardinia Shire 2022 Australia Day Award winners will be announced on Tuesday 25 January on Council's Facebook page and website. The ceremony will be available at from 6.30pm Tuesday 25 January and will be free for all residents to view. 

For more information about the Australia Day awards, visit Council’s website at  

Was this page useful?