Stan Henwood Award nominations now open

2022 Stan Henwood Award recipient Tim Ahern.
2022 Stan Henwood Award recipient Tim Ahern.
Published: 22 January 2023

Recognise a community legend and nominate them for Cardinia Shire’s 2023 Stan Henwood Award.

The annual Stan Henwood Award recognises individuals who have made outstanding, long-term contributions to the local community.  

Cardinia Shire Council Mayor Councillor Tammy Radford said the annual Stan Henwood Award was an important way to recognise the vital work of volunteers across Cardinia Shire. 

“Volunteers are what makes a place great. They’re the selfless people who we rely on in times of need, the people who put their community first. They’re often the ones you see around town, helping this committee or that sporting club. They’re the tireless connectors, the fundraisers, the carers, the givers,” 

The Stan Henwood Award honours the memory of Tynong legend Stan Henwood. Heavily involved with the Tynong Hall Committee, the Tynong Recreation Reserve Committee and the Make A Wish Foundation, Stan was also a key part of the local sporting community. He was a life member of the Tynong Tennis Club, the West Gippsland Tennis Association, Tynong Fire Brigade and Tynong Progress Association. Beyond Cardinia Shire’s borders, he received a Medal from the Prime Minister for service to sport and an Order of Australia for Service to the Community. 

Mayor Radford is encouraging community members to nominate anyone they believe has made a positive, long-term contribution to Cardinia Shire.  

“The annual Stan Henwood Award recognises Stan’s generosity of spirit and community service and honours other civic-minded people in our community today,” Cr Radford said.  

The 2022 Stan Henwood Award winner was Tim Ahern. Tim has been actively volunteering in the community since 1965. He has contributed to the community through dedicating his time with many different community groups, local fundraising activities and events and has been awarded the “Paul Harris Medal” in 2011 and the “Paul Harris Fellow Sapphire Pin” in 2018 for ongoing service to Rotary & the community. 

“Volunteers do so much for our community and provide so many vital services. Recognising them through the Stan Henwood Award is one way that we can show our appreciation,” Cr Radford said.  

Nominees must have made a significant contribution to community services in Cardinia Shire, have not previously received the award and must not have been a Cardinia Shire Councillor within the last four years.   

Nominations for the 2023 award close at midnight on 3 March 2023.  

Nominations must be submitted online via the SmartyGrants portal, which will require the nominator to register an account before they can prepare and submit a nomination form.  

The winner of the 2023 award will be announced at Council’s Volunteer Reception in May. 

For more information about the Stan Henwood Award including eligibility criteria and how to nominate, visit or call the Cardinia Shire Council Connected Communities team on 1300 787 624. 

Was this page useful?