

GENERAL REPORTS

3 APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO: THE KOO WEE RUP COMMUNITY CENTRE, LANG LANG MEMORIAL HALL AND YANNATHAN PUBLIC HALL

_

FILE REFERENCE INT181379

RESPONSIBLE GENERAL MANAGER Jenny Scicluna

AUTHOR Nicole Lucas; Helena Moloney

RECOMMENDATION

That the following amendments and appointments be made to the following Special Committees formed under the provisions of Sections 86 of the Local Government Act (1989).

Koo Wee Rup Community Centre Committee:

- President Janis Fox
- Secretary Lisa Van Dord
- Treasurer Lyn van de Hoet
- Booking Officer Katelyn Van Dord
- Committee members Gus Moore, Sandra Harris, Gwenda Wolf

All previous members are removed from this committee and are acknowledged and thanked for their past contribution.

Lang Lang Memorial Hall Committee:

- President Ken Robinson
- Vice President Bob Taylor
- Secretary Cynthia Gane
- Treasurer Margaret Robinson
- Committee members Karen Brown, Bruce Dunn, Roni Schell

All previous members are removed from this committee and are acknowledged and thanked for their past contribution.

Yannathan Public Hall Committee:

- President Matthew Coleman
- Vice Presidents Kevin Kitchen and Val Williams
- Secretary and Treasurer Ian Baker
- Committee members Ann Campbell, Noel Campbell, Melva Head, Jan Kruizinga, Rosemary Kruizinga, Brian Pitman, Bruce Thomas, Loris Milner, Stephen Kent, Eric Kent, Calvin Coghlin, Geof Gardiner, Andrew Liebe, Jenny Liebe.

All previous members are removed from this committee and are acknowledged and thanked for their past contribution.



Attachments

Nil.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report advises Council of the membership of the Committees of Management that have been appointed as the result of public meetings that have been conducted by Councillors or Council Officers.

BACKGROUND

Members of Special Committees require appointment by Council resolution pursuant to Section 86 of the Local Government Act. The election of Special Committees of Management is organised by Council and takes place annually or at other specified times.

The Act requires that Council approves the membership of Special Committees. It also notes those who are no longer members.

At a meeting held on Tuesday 21st November, 2017 the members detailed above were elected to be appointed by Council to the Koo Wee Rup Community Centre Committee for the current term as specified in the Instrument of Delegation (annually).

At a meeting held on Thursday 30th November, 2017 the members detailed above were elected to be appointed by Council to the Lang Lang Memorial Hall Committee for the current term as specified in the Instrument of Delegation (annually).

At a meeting held on Thursday 30th November, 2017 the members detailed above were elected to be appointed by Council to the Yannathan Public Hall Committee for the current term as specified in the Instrument of Delegation (annually).

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

Nil.

RELEVANCE TO COUNCIL PLAN

Establishing and maintaining committees is directly relevant to the Council Plan goals of actively engaging with communities and increasing levels of community participation.

CONSULTATION/COMMUNICATION

The Annual General Meeting of the Committee was appropriately advertised in the local media.

FINANCIAL AND RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS

Nil.

CONCLUSION

It is appropriate for the Council to confirm the appointment of these new members to the Committee of Management for the Koo Wee Rup Community Centre, Lang Lang Memorial Hall and Yannathan Public Hall.