

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF SECTION 86 COMMITTEES FOR RECREATION</u> RESERVES

FILE REFERENCE INT1987129

RESPONSIBLE GENERAL MANAGER Tracey Parker

AUTHOR Fiona Christopher

RECOMMENDATION

That the following persons be appointed to the respective Committees formed under Sections 86 and 88 of the Local Government Act (1989).

Sutherland Park Recreation Reserve

President Glen Burbridge
Secretary Judi Fenby
Treasurer Sandra Butler
Committee member Carol Gibson
Committee member Sue Simmons

Pound Road Reserve (Bunyip)

Chairperson Wendy Smith
Vice President Deb Vaniersel
Secretary Anj Mcphee
Treasurer Linda Grey
Committee member Peter Darten
Committee member Sue Anderson

Officer Recreation Reserve

President Rob Porter
Vice President John Tivendale
Secretary Gareth Sheean
Treasurer Gary McCoubrie
Committee member Geoff Porter
Committee member Amy Jones

Yarrabubba Reserve

Chairperson Helen Sutton
Vice President Katie Holmes
Treasurer Bjorn Vodanovich

Secretary Colin Wert
Committee member Fiona Trimble
Committee member Jan Ennis

Committee member Andie Richardson

Cardinia Reserve

Chairperson Chris Beardshaw

Vice President Bill Orr

Secretary Liz Bergmeier

Treasurer John A

Committee member Rudy de Jong Committee member Chris Gunton

GENERAL COUNCIL MEETING - 18 NOVEMBER 2019



Committee member John Grogan
Committee member David Young
Committee member Luke Turner
Committee member Jason Buchanan

Worrell Recreation Reserve (Emerald)

Chairperson Kristen Strong Secretary Howard Winter Treasurer Neil Burns

Committee member Andrea MacDonald Committee member Mark Goodyear Committee member Gary Campbell Committee member Gary Campbell Committee member Sue Wills

Committee member Brenda Goodyear Committee member Andrew MacNeely

Attachments

Nil

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report advises Council of the membership of Council appointed Section 86 Committees of Management that have been elected.

BACKGROUND

There are twenty-seven (27) recreation reserves within Cardinia Shire which are managed by Committees of Management. Fifteen (15) of these reserves are managed by Council appointed Section 86 Committees of Management, three (3) are Department of Environment, Land, Water and Primary Industries (DELWP) owned with Council appointed Section 86 Committees of Management and the remaining nine (9) are DELWP owned with DELWP appointed Committees of Management.

Members of Special Committees of Management are elected bi-annually through a Council-managed process and upon election require appointment by Council resolution pursuant to Section 86 of the Local Government Act. Only Section 86 and DELWP Council appointed Committees of Management can be approved by Council, other committees are for Council's information only.

This report recommends the appointment of new members for the following committees as a result of public meetings that have been conducted by Councillors or Council Officers.:

- Sutherland Park Recreation Reserve
- Officer Recreation Reserve
- Cardinia Recreation Reserve
- Pound Road Reserve (DELWP owned land, Committee appointed by Council)
- Yarrabubba Recreation Reserve
- Worrell Recreation Reserve (DELWP owned land, Committee appointed by Council)



POLICY IMPLICATIONS

Nil.

RELEVANCE TO COUNCIL PLAN

Establishing and maintaining Committees of Management is directly relevant to the Council Plan goals of actively engaging with communities and increasing levels of community participation.

CONSULTATION/COMMUNICATION

Notifications of Annual General Meetings for Section 86 Committees of Management for Recreation Reserves are advertised through local media and internally to all user groups of that reserve.

FINANCIAL AND RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS

Nil.

CONCLUSION

Council's Section 86 Recreation Reserve Committees of Management voluntarily manage and maintain many recreation reserve facilities across Cardinia Shire.

This enables the community to participate in sport and recreation activities that provides health and social benefits to the broader community.